deen
Madder

The red roots of the madder plant (Rubia tinctorum, or "dyer's red") contain 1-2% of the colourant alizarin, which in pure form gives rise to red-orange crystals. These dissolve in water with difficulty, but can be dissolved in alcohol with no problem. Alizarin belongs to the family of anthrachinon dyes, distinguished by having three linked benzol rings.

Madder

History

Along with indigo, madder is one of the oldest plant dyes. Traces of the red colourant alizarin were found on a belt in the tomb of the Egyptian Pharaoh Tutankhamen (ca. 1337 BC). Written records about the use of madder have come down to us from Greek and Roman authors. Pliny the Elder, a Roman writer and officer, writes around 23 BC of a plant by the name of rubia, which is "indispensable for the dyeing of wool and leather" and highly profitable. The Romans used the red dye as a substitute for the much more expensive purple which was obtained from the murex.

In Central Europe we find the first indications of the use of madder in the 5th century AD. In the 15th century the main centre for cultivation of the plant was the Netherlands. Trade in red-dyed textiles and leathers developed to cover the whole of Europe. Special prestige attached to cordwain leather from Cordoba. Even the Vikings dyed their textiles with madder.

Turkey, however, was the origin of a dyeing technique that achieved widespread fame. A new and complicated method of dyeing resulted in a fiery red that was exceptionally colour-fast - this was the colour that came to be known as "Turkish red". Turkish immigrants aired the secret of the technique in France in the 17th century, and madder cultivation in Alsace and Provence entered on a new florescence. Up to the 19th century, 70,000 tons of madder a year were being used for dyeing (the figure dates from 1868). In Germany the plant was cultivated in Baden, in Württemberg, in the Pfalz and in Mecklenburg, as well as in Silesia and Austria.

From 1871 onwards madder production fell upon hard times. In 1869 the German chemists Graebe and Liebermann succeeded for the first time in producing synthetic alizarin. The synthetic dye was a good deal cheaper than the natural one. As a result, it no longer made sense for farmers to go on cultivating madder. Today there are just a few pockets of cultivation remaining in Turkey and the south of France.



  1. imprint
  2. contact
  3. conditions
  4. privacy notice
  5. © 2018 Artemis - Hans Stockmar GmbH & Co. KG

deen
Krapp

Die Krapp-Pflanze (Färberröte, Rubia tinctorum) enthält in ihren roten Wurzeln 1-2% des Farbstoffes Alizarinrot, das in reiner Form orange-rote Kristalle bildet. Diese sind in Wasser schlecht und in Alkohol relativ gut löslich. Alizarinrot gehört zur Familie der Anthrachinonfarbstoffe, welche an drei miteinander verbundenen Benzolringen zu erkennen sind.

Krapp

Geschichtliches

Krapp ist neben Indigo einer der ältesten Pflanzenfarbstoffe. Im Grab des ägyptischen Herrschers Tutenchamun um 1337 vor Chr. ließen sich Spuren des roten Farbstoffes Alizarin auf einem Gürtel nachweisen. Schriftliche Aufzeichnungen über die Verwendung von Krapp finden sich bei den Griechen und den Römern. Plinius der Ältere, ein römischer Schriftsteller und Offizier, berichtet um 23 nach Chr. von einer Pflanze namens Rubia, die "zum Färben der Wolle und des Leders unentbehrlich" sei und viel Gewinn bringe. Die Römer verwendeten den roten Farbstoff als Imitat für das wesentlich teurere, aus Purpurschnecken gewonnene Purpur.

In Mitteleuropa finden sich im 5. Jahrhundert nach Chr. erste Hinweise auf die Verwendung von Krapp. Im 15. Jahrhundert lag das Zentrum des Krappanbaus in den Niederlanden. In ganz Europa entwickelte sich ein Handel mit den rot gefärbten Textilien und Ledern. Besonders berühmt war das Corduanleder aus Cordoba. Selbst die Wikinger färbten ihre Stoffe mit dem Farbstoff.

Größte Berühmtheit erlangte jedoch ein Färbeverfahren der Türken: Durch einen komplizierten Färbevorgang erreichten sie ein feuriges Rot von außergewöhnlicher Farbechtheit, das sogenannte "Türkischrot". Türkische Einwanderer lüfteten das Geheimnis des Verfahrens im 17. Jahrhundert in Frankreich und verhalfen dem elsässischen und provencialischen Krappanbau zu einer neuen Blüte. Noch im vorigen Jahrhundert wurden weltweit bis zu 70000 Tonnen Krapp pro Jahr (1868) für Färbungen verbraucht. In Deutschland wurde er in Baden, in Württemberg, in der Pfalz und in Mecklenburg angebaut, ferner auch in Schlesien und in Österreich.

Ab 1871 kam der Krappanbau in Bedrängnis. Den deutschen Chemikern C. Graebe und C. Liebermann war im Jahr 1869 erstmals die künstliche Herstellung von Alizarin gelungen. Das synthetische Alizarin kam 1871 zu einem wesentlich günstigeren Preis als das natürliche in den Handel. Dadurch war der Anbau der Krapppflanze für die Krappbauern nicht mehr rentabel. Heute gibt es nur noch kleine Anbaugebiete in Südfrankreich und in der Türkei.



  1. Impressum
  2. Kontakt
  3. AGB
  4. Datenschutz
  5. © 2017 Artemis - Hans Stockmar GmbH & Co. KG